Clifton Primary School

Aspire to Achieve

Early Years Foundation Stage

Children learning in Nursery and Reception classes follow the statutory EYFS framework for teaching and development. This stage is very important in a child’s life as it helps prepare for school ‘readiness’ as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. 


Children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development, these are split into Prime and Specific areas.


Children start developing in the Prime Areas first. These are:

  • Communication and Language;
  • Physical Development; and
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

These prime areas are those most essential for a child’s healthy development and future learning, these weave throughout our Early Years Curriculum


As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in Specific Areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the World; and
  • Expressive Arts and Design.


All 7 areas of learning are used to plan children’s learning and activities. We make sure that the activities are adapted to children's unique needs and interests, while teaching them the most important skills and knowledge to prepare them for future learning.

Phonics teaching is a key part of  children’s learning, this is where children learn to link letters and sounds and develop early reading and writing skills. We use a systematic synthetic phonics programme called Read Write Inc.