Clifton Primary School

Aspire to Achieve


The Early Years Curriculum


In Early Years we use the Development Matters document to plan for and assess the children's development.


The curriculum is divided into 7 areas of development, the prime areas and specific areas. 


The Prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)


The Specific areas are:

  • Literacy (Reading and Writing)
  • Maths (Numbers and Shape, Space & Measure)
  • Expressive Art and Design 
  • Understanding the World


Each area has specific statements related to the child's age of development in months. We use these to assess the children and plan for their next steps.